Benin

I how now begun my fieldwork in Benin and after the first week everything looks promising. Found a french teacher/interpreter and got a lot of help from the Danish embassy here. After having reviewed the documents readily available, I have started to try to create an overview over microfinance initiatives here. Thus, I have made some interviews and will be doing more the coming weeks, until I settle on a few institutions to study in depth.

My focus has changes some. I found that it will be difficult for me to track the organizational characteristics which leads to good performance because either the number of institutions would be too small or the work to great. Moreover, I found that donors and international organizations have tremendous influence on everything which happens microfinance – in Benin at least. Thus I am now look at how different organizations are tackling the contact with donors and international institutions. Also interesting!

I’ll have to get back to work, though.

Leave a Reply

